David Bowie – Loving the Alien – Volume One

David+Bowie

Much like my Mudhoney and soon to be published Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds series of blog posts, I will also be doing quite an in-depth series on one of my biggest influences as an artist, David Bowie. In 42 days Bowie will be releasing his first new album in ten years and in order to celebrate that I’ll be writing a blog each week dedicated to Bowie. I’ll be focussing on covering every album and era of his career and talking about what each record means to me and why he is one the most if not the most important artist to exist. I will be putting a spotlight on his entire career from 1962 through to 2013 and will focus on the importance of each of the 51 years he’s been active as an artist. To break it down I’ll be breaking each blog up into each era and in the spirit of chaos I won’t be doing it in order. To give you a preview of how these eras look I thought I’d paint you a little timeline:

1962 to 1968 (Bowie’s age 15 to 21)

–          Bowie’s first bands (The Konrads, The King Bees, The Manish Boys, The Lower Third, The Buzz and Riot Squad

–          His evolution from Davy Jones to David Bowie

–          The Launch of his debut Self-titled Album

1969 to 1973 (Bowie’s age 22 to 26)

–          Space Oddity

–          The Man Who Sold The World

–          Hunky Dory

–          The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars

–          Aladdin Sane

–          Pin Ups

1974 to 1976 (Bowie’s age 27 to 29)

–          Diamond Dogs

–          Young Americans

–          Station To Station

1976 to 1979 (Bowie’s age 29 to 32)

–          Low

–          Heroes

–          Lodger

1980 to 1989 (Bowie’s age 33 to 42)

–          Scary Monsters (and Super Creeps)

–          Let’s Dance

–          Tonight

–          Never Let Me Down

1989 to 1991 (Bowie’s age 42 to 44)

–          Tin Machine

1992 to 1999 (Bowie’s age 45 to 52)

–          Black Tie White Noise

–          Outside

–          Earthling

1999 to 2013 (Bowie’s age 52 to 66)

–          Hours

–          Heathen

–          Reality

–          The Next Day

So as you can see there is a lot to cover and having owned Bowie’s entire discography for the past 10 years, I can safely say that I’m quite versed in the different eras and have done my best to study his music and his songwriting for that 10 year period. I was never content with just his hits or a best of. Bowie is so much more than that and his music is always relevant and always sounds fresh to my ears. I have favourite eras but ultimately I love it all equally and I’ll be doing my best to shed some light on my personal attachment to each of his albums and to share as much of it via links and youtube videos so you can hear for yourself just how amazing David Bowie is.

Consider this my introduction and to finalise this blog I’m going to share with you my favourite all time David Bowie song.

I have thought long and hard about this and after spending the last few evenings with Bowie’s discography the song I kept coming back to for Sentimental reasons was from the last album he released called “Reality.” This was the album that birthed my love affair with Bowie back in 2003 and the song that turned my world upside down and made me connect to his music was a song called “The Loneliest Guy.” It is a beautiful ballad that is soaked in so much bliss and reflective heartache. I can’t put into words how vital this song was for me in terms of understanding and becoming obsessed with David Bowie. So that is what I’ll leave you all with, I hope you all enjoy it as much as I do.

David Bowie – The Loneliest Guy (from his 2003 album Reality)

Big Love xo

By Dan Newton

One Reply to “David Bowie – Loving the Alien – Volume One”

  1. Dear Dan, I am looking forward to the upcomimg posts of your blog. I have been listening to David Bowie since the mid 80s, I was not familiar with ‘The Reality’ album. “The Loneliest guy” is a moving ballad. I would be curious to know your views on ” Loving the Alien”. Best, Laurent : )

Leave a Reply

