The Male Feminist – Part One – An Introduction

henryfinger

I have been writing this particular blog post for the past three months. I have attacked it from many different points of view and I have done the appropriate research in order to put focus on what I plan to communicate. I think like music the best way to write is to make sure that you keep it simple and to ensure that you really analyse exactly what you are trying to communicate. So after sitting down and collecting my paragraphs and different points of views I decided that I simply wanted to tell my story and interaction with feminism and how I identify as a male feminist. To break it down to an even simpler level I am essentially planning to discuss my commitment for striving for gender equality in this world.

Before I dive into this topic I just want to ensure that everyone understands where I am coming from and why I have sat down to write about this topic and my personal relationship with it. First and foremost I am a human being who does not believe in titles or putting me into a minority in order to illustrate my history. I don’t believe in the left or the right and I have no time for the middle. I see the importance of the full circle and all spectrums of thought. To plug into any kind of truth I need to know the enemy who threatens what I believe before I can even attempt to engage the change I desire. It is important for you to know that when I introduce myself to anyone I don’t believe in describing or spelling out my soul by using the limitations of titles. Everyone who is alive and breathing is equal. I am not a man, a woman, a musician, an artist, a poet, a journalist, a smoker, a non-smoker, a drinker, a feminist, a white man, a black man, a Chinese man, a homosexual, a heterosexual, a feminist, a misogynist, a sexist, a criminal, a liar, a lawyer, a police officer, a manager, a boss, an employee, an employer, a catholic, a Christian, a Muslim, a Hindu, a Jew, an Atheist, an Agnostic, a comedian, a scientist, a priest, a rabbi, a shaman, a humanist, a clairvoyant, a psychic or a singer. I am just a human being who believes in experiencing new things and if I have a mission statement or cycle of belief it would be aligned with these words from Bill Hicks:

All matter is merely energy condensed to a slow vibration – that we are all one consciousness experiencing itself subjectively. There’s no such thing as death, life is only a dream, and we’re the imagination of ourselves. The world is like a ride in an amusement park, and when you choose to go on it you think it’s real because that’s how powerful our minds are. The ride goes up and down, around and around, it has thrills and chills, and it’s very brightly coloured, and it’s very loud, and it’s fun for a while. Many people have been on the ride a long time, and they begin to wonder, “Hey, is this real, or is this just a ride?” And other people have remembered, and they come back to us and say, “Hey, don’t worry; don’t be afraid, ever, because this is just a ride.” And we … kill those people. “Shut him up! I’ve got a lot invested in this ride, shut him up! Look at my furrows of worry, look at my big bank account, and my family. This has to be real.” It’s just a ride. But we always kill the good guys who try and tell us that, you ever notice that? And let the demons run amok … But it doesn’t matter, because it’s just a ride. And we can change it any time we want. It’s only a choice. No effort, no work, no job, no savings of money. Just a simple choice, right now, between fear and love. The eyes of fear want you to put bigger locks on your doors, buy guns, close yourself off. The eyes of love instead see all of us as one. Here’s what we can do to change the world, right now, to a better ride. Take all that money we spend on weapons and defences each year and instead spend it feeding and clothing and educating the poor of the world, which it would pay for many times over, not one human being excluded, and we could explore space, together, both inner and outer, forever, in peace.

This is what I believe, we are all one and the real enemy for me in this world is anything that gets in the way of equality occurring. You may think that in this modern landscape of technology and scientific and spiritual thought that we have reached closer to equality. I can safely say that you are wrong and that as a collection of human beings trapped in this ocean of chaos we have come close to glimpsing it but we are still so far from it being a reality. So many different things are at the heart of this and it is not one thing over the other. Everyone who is alive is responsible and time and time again my mantra is “am I part of the problem or am I part of the solution?” A big part of this journey to equality requires you to try and find inner peace before we can have outer peace, but all of this is distracting me from what I planned to write about, gender equality and the responsibility of titling myself (a contradiction I know considering what I just wrote) as a male feminist.

I thought the best way to start this topic off was to post the following videos which focus on a man that I identify with. These are some videos about Henry Rollins that go deep into his psyche and illustrate who he is as a male. I relate to a lot of what he says and a big part of how he feels and his journey. I wanted to keep this first blog post as merely an introduction, so to end this post I advise you to watch these videos and get ready for part two which will see me illustrate my journey from boy to man to male feminist.

Part One:

Part Two:

By Dan Newton

3 Replies to “The Male Feminist – Part One – An Introduction”

  1. Omg, this article is so wonderful! I can’t believe someone actually got the *exact* same things from Live Through This as I did. I’m going to read the rest in portions — how exciting! 🙂

    I remember the moment I realized I Think That I Would Die was about Frances being taken away I just cried, what a disgusting thing to do to a mother. I’d been fascinated by the song forever (I can’t claim for much reason than the lyrics, “she said i am not a feminist, it’s. NOT. yours. FUCK YOU!”) but never put the pieces until much later. Especially sad to me were the lyrics “there is no milk” — is it possible to stop lactating if you’re not nursing? God damn is that terrible. What an awful experience for the three of them.

  2. Hey, I’m an idiot — I commented on the wrong post. Sorry, could you “not approve” my comments and keep my embarrassing oversight between us? 😉

Leave a Reply

