ALBUM OF THE WEEK (March 24th 2013): ‘Rust Never Sleeps’ by Neil Young and Crazy Horse (1979)

220px-Neil_Young_Rust_Never_Sleeps

ALBUM OF THE WEEK (March 21st 2013) – ‘Rust Never Sleeps’ by Neil Young and Crazy Horse
Release date: July 2, 1979
Label: Reprise Records

Track Listing:

1) My My, Hey Hey (Out Of The Blue) – 3:45
2) Thrasher – 5:38
3) Ride My Llama – 2:29
4) Pochahontas – 3:22
5) Sail Away – 3:46
6) Powderfinger – 5:30
7) Welfare Mothers – 3:48
8) Sedan Delivery – 4:40
9) Hey Hey, My My (Into The Black) – 5:18

“It’s better to burn out than to fade away”

As these hauntingly beautiful words filter into my ears, I find myself drifting back to the days of my childhood. I’m sitting in the family lounge room listening to Neil Young sing to me as my father takes another drag of his cigarette. Beneath the rays of the sun or the sparkle of the stars, my father would play his collection of Neil Young records to my younger sister and I.

‘They could see the thrashers coming, and the water shone like diamonds in the dew’.

Released in 1979 on the back of his ‘Rust Never Sleeps’ tour (launched in the fall of 1978), Neil Young created one of the most memorable and influential albums of his time. The significance and power of some of these tracks really hit home with me recently when I had the privelege of seeing the man himself perform live with Crazy horse at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre.

‘Shelter me from the powder and the finger, cover me with the thought that pulled the trigger’.

Tracks you can never ever grow tired of listening to include:

– Thrasher; Powderfinger; My My, Hey, Hey (Out Of The Blue) and Hey Hey, My My (Into The Black).

Why have I chosen ‘Rust Never Sleeps’ for Album Of The Week?

The record encompasses the best of both worlds. Filled with delicate acoustic songs and hard rockin’ electric rampages, Young’s fourteenth career album is one of the most thought-provoking statements on artistic integrity that has ever been set to music. Built around his conviction that ‘the alternative to creative growth is stagnation and irrelevancy’, listening to this record leaves me confident that Young’s ever-relevant and intimate lyrical content will eternally resonate in the hearts of many. As Neil Young himself says:

It’s better to burn out ’cause rust never sleeps’.

rustback

By: Ariana Pelser

One Reply to “ALBUM OF THE WEEK (March 24th 2013): ‘Rust Never Sleeps’ by Neil Young and Crazy Horse (1979)”

Leave a Reply

