ALBUM REVIEW: “Heartthrob” by Tegan and Sara

Tegan_and_Sara_-_Heartthrob_cover

I’ve been a big fan of Tegan and Sara since the release of “So Jealous” and although my love affair as a fan has gone from an obsession to a merely causal relationship, it doesn’t affect just how much I love these two amazing humans. To see the rise of the Tegan and Sara over the past decade has been quite thrilling and after years of touring and recording they have finally reached a more mainstream audience with their music. This is well deserved because Tegan and Sara write some of the best pop music in the world.

On their new album “Heartthrob” the twins take a further dive into the electronic side of their sound. This album is saturated with synths and all kinds of electronics but the one thing that is still at the centre of it is a great collection of songs. I like hearing Tegan and Sara in this almost disco setting, it suits their pop skills and I feel quite nostalgic listening to this album. It reminds me of all the drama and entertainment of degrassi high.

Do I love this album? Not as much as their previous albums, but I do get a real good time out of it when I listen to it. Tegan and Sara are at the point where they can pretty much do anything and I’ll find a way to enjoy it.

8 Cassette Tapes Out Of 10

By: Dan Newton

One Reply to “ALBUM REVIEW: “Heartthrob” by Tegan and Sara”

Leave a Reply

