ALBUM REVIEW: “All Our Wires” by SEJA

Seja_All_Our_Wires_0513

The music made by SEJA is incredibly beautiful, an exquisite journey full of pop music swoon and late night heartbreak. The power of SEJA’s delivery is the way she invites you deep into her world and as was the case with her previous album “We Have Secrets But Nobody Cares” SEJA’s brand new album “All Our Wires” is an exercise in pure escapism.

The creative history of SEJA is legendary, especially if like me you have (and still do) participate in the Brisbane / Australian music scene. Her very unique pop skills have always outshined everyone else and if her new album proves anything it is that she is continuing to establish her unique dialogue of experimental synth heavy pop music, fuck it is such a glorious noise that she makes. I hear so many other humans attempt to be as amazing as SEJA but the fact remains she is and always will be a true original.

I could listen to “All Our Wires” for days and believe me when I say that I have. There is a considerable amount of intensity swirling in and out of the sunshine pop. All of the songs carry those hits of late afternoon sun and surround you with their warmth. There is however a degree of emotional chaos inside the warmth and the album itself never lets you rest easy. This is clearly pop music made by a broken hearted human for other broken heart humans who at the best of times feel misunderstood by the world around them.  The sadness all throughout this record is overwhelming and the deep heavy ache that I hear in every song is a thing of beauty. There is no agenda to this music other than honestly expressing the rawness of being open to other humans in the hope of being loved back.

The real highlight of this album though is the wonderful fifth track “Imaginations In Hyperspace” which is just such a right on piece of pop music. I’m fairly certain all of the other humans reading this will understand what I’m talking about when I say that I want to marry this song and live with it forever. There is nothing more amazing then when you have a song just hit you and it flows through every inch of you and heightens your emotions to a point where you feel this kind of yearning that almost makes you want to burst it hurts so much. That is the kind of song that “Imaginations In Hyperspace” is and it just takes me away man, far far far far away from the absolute chaos of this fucked up world and I love that, more than I love anything else in the world. To have a beautiful piece of music just transport me away like a fucking spaceship to some other dimension where I can breathe in something more beautiful than the mediocrity of this place called earth that I have to share with these animals known as humans is a healing experience indeed and “Imaginations In Hyperspace” provides this kind of escape. This is by far one of the most beautiful songs of 2013 and you’d be a fucking fool to ignore it.

At the end of the day that is what the whole album does to me, it just acts like fucking rocket ship that takes me so far away from myself and you have no idea how beautiful that feels as a human being who struggles to feel like they belong in this ocean of chaos known as life. That is the power of a great song and a great album and “All Our Wires” does that to me and then some.

Believe me when I say that your decade will be improved once you listen to the wonderful sound that is “All Our Wires” by SEJA who remains to be one hell of an amazing artist that deserves all of your time, money and love because we need her music in this world.

10 Cassette Tapes out of 10

By: Dan Newton

Useful Links:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/Sejamusic
Official Website – http://www.sejamusic.com

2 Replies to “ALBUM REVIEW: “All Our Wires” by SEJA”

Leave a Reply

