HEAVY AND WEIRD RECORDS – HOLY ELEVEN – Tony from Thirteen Seventy talks about his Holy Eleven Bands / Artists of all time

11403171_1018163284860911_8783911266994106266_n

 Each member of Thirteen Seventy sat down to make a list of their top eleven bands / artists of all time to help Heavy and Weird launch our “HOLY ELEVEN” series – first up is Tony

1184901_715222811821628_244103230_n

Tony – Bass and Vocals

BATHORY

Your First Interaction With The Band / Artist 

It was late one night on the radio, I think it was about 1998 or 1999, and Triple J’s metal show The 3 Hours of Power had a black metal special on. They played Bathory’s song The Lake which was off their album Blood on Ice. Not entirely a black metal piece, more viking metal.

How Did the Interaction Occur

My friend taped the show, I got most of the show on tape, but the tape ran out close towards the end which was when “The Lake” was on. So I heard it once, then only so often again for a while. However, being an inquisitive 15-16 year old I tried hard to find more about this band

First Album Purchased by the Band / Artist and When 

I don’t actually remember which was the first Bathory album I bought. It is most likely I found a bunch of them and bought several at the same time. Blood Fire Death would have been in there I’m sure.

Favourite Album by the Band / Artist

It is a really tough one for me, as Blood Fire Death is such an epic album, but Under the Sign of the Black Mark is just too close for me to pick just one.

Favourite Song by the Band / Artist 

The first track from Blood Fire Death, which is called A Fine Day to Die is my all time favourite. A haunting piece, I remember playing it the day Quorthon died. It is almost the epitome of black metal.

How Many Times Have you have Seen Them Live 

Never, not a live band.

Total Amount Of Years Spent Listening To and Following The Band

16-17 years

GEHENNA

Your First Interaction With The Band / Artist 

I guess when most people think of the first Norwegian black metal band they encountered, Gehenna wouldn’t be on many lists, but, they were one of the first for me. Strangely, I don’t remember which song it was, but I know it was off either the album Malice or Seen Through the Veils of Darkness.

How Did the Interaction Occur

Again, on Triple J’s metal show, very late, was probably barely awake at the time, but I remembered the name, saw them in Terrorizer Magazines and hunted their music down.

First Album Purchased by the Band / Artist and When 

I think it was Adimiron Black as that was their new album at the time. Think I imported it from Germany, so it would probably have been 1999 I guess.

Favourite Album by the Band / Artist

Malice is my favourite of theirs. Not that it has my favourite songs on it, but it is one of the few albums I can listen from start to finish and be totally absorbed.

Favourite Song by the Band / Artist 

The song Vinterriket from Seen Through the Veils of Darkness, which has Garm from Ulver as guest vocalist.

How Many Times Have you have Seen Them Live 

Never, as they kind of stopped doing live performances I think by the time I had turned 18.

Total Amount Of Years Spent Listening To and Following The Band

16-17 years

BETHLEHEM

Your First Interaction With The Band / Artist 

Again on the radio, it was a song called Yesterday I Still Had a Beer Today.

How Did the Interaction Occur

I taped it and it was on my favourites tape for years. It was unlike anything I had ever heard, so unusual and depressing.

First Album Purchased by the Band / Artist and When 

Almost naturally it was the EP that this song was featured on, which is called Reflektionen Auf’s Sterben. It would have been 1998, or 1999.

Favourite Album by the Band / Artist

It is their album Sardonischer Untergang im Zeichen irreligiöser Darbietung. A perfect blend of doom metal and black metal, the perfect album to cut yourself to.

Favourite Song by the Band / Artist 

Still and always will be Yesterday I Still Had a Beer Today.

How Many Times Have you have Seen Them Live 

Never.

Total Amount Of Years Spent Listening To and Following The Band

17 years probably.

ARCANA

Your First Interaction With The Band / Artist 

So by now you are thinking I only listen to black metal. Well, no, but I did discover this band in an issue of Terrorizer under a Cold Meat Industry advertisement. The first two songs I heard were Angel of Sorrow and Like Statues in the Garden of Dreaming.

How Did the Interaction Occur

This was when the internet was young and Cold Meat Industry had a website, with samples, 32kbps and 30 seconds in length of each song. I was addicted, mainly because I wanted to know how the goddamn songs finished.

First Album Purchased by the Band / Artist and When 

Dark Age of Reason, which was the album these song samples were taken from. I found it in Sanity of all places, really cheap. I still think that is close to the best bit-of-luck purchase I have ever made. So probably around 2000, as I still didn’t have internet at home.

Favourite Album by the Band / Artist

It is still Dark Age of Reason. Their others are great, but this has sentimental reasons.

Favourite Song by the Band / Artist 

Angel of Sorrow is still my favourite. One of the most haunting songs I have ever had the pleasure to listen to.

How Many Times Have you have Seen Them Live 

Never.

Total Amount Of Years Spent Listening To and Following The Band

15 years I would think.

EMPEROR

Your First Interaction With The Band / Artist 

Okay, back to black metal, I heard them on Triple J or 4ZZZ, and to be honest, I didn’t really like them at first! I don’t remember what song it was.

How Did the Interaction Occur

I think the music was from Anthems to the Welkin at Dusk. It was probably a few months later when I heard some of their other earlier albums and they began to grow on me.

First Album Purchased by the Band / Artist and When 

In the Nightside Eclipse I am pretty sure. It was another one I bought in London in 2000. So pretty late considering I was into black metal for at least two years before then.

Favourite Album by the Band / Artist

It is In the Nightside Eclipse. I think probably close to my favourite album of all time.

Favourite Song by the Band / Artist 

The opening track from that album, Into the Infinity of Thoughts. As a 17 year old, this is pure evil.

How Many Times Have you have Seen Them Live 

Never.

Total Amount Of Years Spent Listening To and Following The Band

15-16 years.

BURZUM

Your First Interaction With The Band / Artist 

Their song Lost Wisdom on Tripe J’s metal show again.

How Did the Interaction Occur

Another one I taped and just got better and better to my ears.

First Album Purchased by the Band / Artist and When 

I can’t quite remember but I think it was actually the Burzum/Aske release. That’s the first album and ep on a re-release. That was probably around 2000 as well to be honest, I always liked the Aske side better.

Favourite Album by the Band / Artist

Filosofem. Just another great example of what one talented individual can do with no other band mates around (Sorry Clint and Fi!) This was very different and quite a groundbreaking album.

Favourite Song by the Band / Artist 

Det Som Engang Var from Hvit Lyset Tar Oss. I like really long songs that grow and meander and this does both.

How Many Times Have you have Seen Them Live 

Never, he’s not a live performance type of guy…

Total Amount Of Years Spent Listening To and Following The Band

15 years.

DEAD CAN DANCE

Your First Interaction With The Band / Artist 

Their entire album The Serpent’s Egg.

How Did the Interaction Occur

My uncle gave it to me to listen to when he realised another band I previously mentioned, Arcana, sounded just like them. I understood Arcana a lot more after hearing this too.

First Album Purchased by the Band / Artist and When 

I would have said The Serpent’s Egg, which I’m sure it was, but I can’t remember as I had listened to it so many times before owning it, that it blurs. Probably 2000 – 2001.

Favourite Album by the Band / Artist

This is one I can’t make my mind up. I think Spleen and Ideal, but The Serpent’s Egg is very close, or maybe it’s better, I don’t know.

Favourite Song by the Band / Artist 

Enigma of the Absolute, from Spleen and Ideal. No Lisa Gerrard vocals, but the song is kind of hypnotic and to me is almost one of those songs that I would want played at my funeral.

How Many Times Have you have Seen Them Live 

Technically never, but I did see Lisa Gerrard perform and she did a couple of DCD songs. Unfortunately the recent news they were playing somehow eluded me until the day after their shows…

Total Amount Of Years Spent Listening To and Following The Band

15 years likely.

SATYRICON

Your First Interaction With The Band / Artist 

Their song Mother North.

How Did the Interaction Occur

I believe I heard it on 4ZZZ and then heard it again on a compilation cd I imported from overseas.

First Album Purchased by the Band / Artist and When 

I actually think it was The Shadowthrone and it was probably around 1998-1999 or so I guess.

Favourite Album by the Band / Artist

The Shadowthrone. Their best and one of the best albums of all times in my eyes.

Favourite Song by the Band / Artist 

Hvite Krists Død. This is the opening song from The Shadowthrone.

How Many Times Have you have Seen Them Live 

Once, when they came to Australia on a tour and played at The Arena.

Total Amount Of Years Spent Listening To and Following The Band

16-17 years.

LIMBONIC ART

Your First Interaction With The Band / Artist 

I heard them on Triple J 3 Hours of Power (I know there is a bit of a theme running here, but honestly, there wasn’t really any other way to discover new extreme metal music in 90’s).

How Did the Interaction Occur

It was the song In Abhorrence Dementia taken from the album of the same name. The intro part of the song is this beautiful and serene cosmic symphony that erupts into a glory of black metal ferocity.


First Album Purchased by the Band / Artist and When 

I believe it was actually Moon in the Scorpio, which was probably around 1999. It was a blind purchase, I hadn’t heard anything off this particular album, but I liked their other music and I liked the artwork.

Favourite Album by the Band / Artist

It is Moon in the Scorpio.

Favourite Song by the Band / Artist 

The first song from Moon in the Scorpio, entitled, Beneath the Burial Surface.

How Many Times Have you have Seen Them Live 

Never, they weren’t a live band.

Total Amount Of Years Spent Listening To and Following The Band

16 -17 years?

CLAN OF XYMOX

Your First Interaction With The Band / Artist 

I was getting into a lot synth pop and 80’s goth/new wave music, and I heard a remix of one their later songs, Innocent, by Assemblage 23.

How Did the Interaction Occur

This was about 2002-2003, so I downloaded it off soulseek or limewire or something bad and illegal like that.

First Album Purchased by the Band / Artist and When 

Was actually their first and self titled album. This maybe was around 2003, as this was when I was really getting into this kind of music.

Favourite Album by the Band / Artist

Is and always will be Clan of Xymox. First album is great, but Medusa is also awesome.

Favourite Song by the Band / Artist 

Is a four way tie between A Day, Stranger, both from the first album, Back Door from Medusa, and the In Strict Confidence Mix of At Your Mercy from Remixes from the Underground.

How Many Times Have you have Seen Them Live 

Once, last year in fact.

Total Amount Of Years Spent Listening To and Following The Band

12 years I would think.

LYCIA

Your First Interaction With The Band / Artist 

Crap, I’m at the end already, but I have so many more bands I wanted to put on this list. Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure, but I will end it with Lycia. A Cold Wave band from America whom I first found a song of theirs called Snowdrop on some label’s website and downloaded it.

How Did the Interaction Occur

I downloaded the song, and was mesmerised. It was kind of like Dead Can Dance and Arcana but a little bit different.

First Album Purchased by the Band / Artist and When 

It was actually their album Ionia. Which is very different to the song Snowdrop, but I liked it a lot. Dreamy guitars and just the utter sound of despair and beauty. It was probably 2003-2004.

Favourite Album by the Band / Artist

I think it is still Ionia. It’s the album I’ve had longest to live with.

Favourite Song by the Band / Artist 

3 way tie between Ionia and Desert from Ionia, and Snowdrop from Cold.

How Many Times Have you have Seen Them Live 

Never.

Total Amount Of Years Spent Listening To and Following The Band

12-13 years?

THIRTEEN SEVENTY will be headlining The Zoo on Friday 21 August to launch their new album

Coming along for the ride for this very eclectic event are GALAPOGOS, SILVER SIRCUS and BALLOONS KILL BABIES

This gig will be presented as part of the 2015 Brisbane Fringe Festival.

Date: Friday 21st August, 2015
Doors: 8:00pm
Advance Tickets: $12.00 (From the bands)
Door Price: $15.00
Photo ID required for entry

Tickets on-sale now. Click below for more information and bookings

http://zoo.oztix.com.au/?Event=53806

Useful Links:

Thirteen Seventy – https://www.facebook.com/thirteenseventy
Galapogos – https://www.facebook.com/galapogosbrisbane
Silver Sircus – https://www.facebook.com/silversircus
Balloons Kill Babies – https://www.facebook.com/BalloonsKillBabies

Leave a Reply

